[review] „The Rosie Project“ by Graeme Simsion

© 2014 Penguin Books

© 2014 Penguin Books

Title: The Rosie Project

Author: Graeme Simsion

ISBN: 978-1-40591-279-2

Publisher: Penguin Books

Publication Date: 02.01.2014

Pages: 352

Don Tillman is a professor of genetics. He’s never had a second date but decides he wants to get married. He thus embarks on The Wife Project and draws up a sixteen-page questionnaire designed to help him find his perfect partner. Instead he finds Rosie, the world’s most incompatible woman. And yet, as they join forces to identify Rosie’s biological father, he seems to be falling for her…

I’d really been looking forward to reading The Rosie Project while at the same time being somewhat wary of the hype around this book. What can I tell you? The hype is definitely well-deserved. The Rosie Project is such a wonderful, feel-good, laugh-out-loud book. I knew one chapter in that I would love it. And I did. I loved it a little more with each new chapter and I didn’t want the book to end. In fact, when I’d finished reading it I wanted to start from the beginning again.

The main character Don Tillman is so adorable. You might actually end up having a bit of a crush on him. I have heard Don Tillman being compared to Dr Sheldon Cooper of The Big Bang Theory. Personally I don’t really see it but I guess they do have some things in common. Probably because Don has (undiagnosed) Asperger’s Syndrome. While this is obviously an underlying topic throughout the book since a lot of the difficulties Don has when it comes to relationships are due to his brain being wired differently, it remains a subtle one. I thought overall the author did a good job of portraying an Aspie and I especially liked that he emphasised the strengths of having a differently wired brain.

It won’t surprise you to hear that I thoroughly enjoyed The Rosie Project. It is such a charming, funny, heart-warming and touching book. If you haven’t read it yet, go and get yourself a copy. You won’t regret it.

My rating:

5 Palmen

5 Gedanken zu „[review] „The Rosie Project“ by Graeme Simsion

  1. Pingback: Februar Rückblick / February wrap-up | Im Lesefieber!

Kommentar verfassen

